Support the Contest

Many people and organizations support the contest by circulating the call for essays and by contributing funds toward financial prizes for winning authors. Support this contest by sharing the call and making a donation — contributions of every size make a big difference.


We thank the following individuals and institutions for their generous support.

  • Dr. Michael Patterson
  • Jan Patterson
  • Chris Crothers
  • Chris Joos
  • Craig Lindberg
  • Elaine M Wallace
  • Jeannene Wiseman
Dr. Michael Patterson presenting awards at the 2019 INS Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL, USA

We are saddened to share the news that Dr. Michael Patterson recently passed. Those wishing to support the contest in his honor, can do so by requesting your donation to the International Neuroethics Society be used for ‘essay contest prizes’ in honor of ‘Dr. Patterson’. Thank you!

Contest Organizers

The contest is organized and administered by the members of the Student/Postdoc Committee of the International Neuroethics Society (INS) and editors of the IYNA Journal, produced by the International Youth Neuroscience Association (IYNA).

The International Neuroethics Society is an interdisciplinary group of scholars, scientists, clinicians, and other professionals dedicated to encouraging and inspiring research and dialogue on the responsible use of advances in brain science. People at all stages of their career join the Society to interact, learn, and participate in dynamic discussions that further the growing field of neuroethics.

The International Youth Neuroscience Association is a global, youth-led nonprofit which supports and advocates for neuroscience education. The IYNA Journal publishes articles on neuroethics and other neuroscience topics. Since its founding at the 2016 USA National Brain Bee, the IYNA has expanded to represent over 5,000 members in 112 countries.